Getting my Helix pierced

FullSizeRender-26.jpg

I am obsessed with my new helix piercing! I’ve spent hours browsing Pinterest for super cute jewellery. I want to share with you some info about cartilage piercings and my experience of the piercing process and aftercare. Hopefully this will be helpful if you’re considering piercing your helix, and if any of you have already had this done and could give this new-be some advice, I’d appreciate it 🙂

The Piercing Process…

If you’ve read my last blog post then you’ll know that I’m currently living in Nepal. There are pros and cons of getting a piercing in a country like this. A pro is that it only cost me 600NPR (4.50GBP)! If you’re planning on getting a cartilage piercing, it’s recommended that you get it done with a piercing needle, rather than your standard gun used for earlobes. Cartilage is a rigid structure, so there’s a risk of it shattering if a gun is used. When I went along, the piercing artist let me choose a ring and position it to the desired location on my ear. He then cleaned the area and pushed the needle through my ear from back to front.

So, how much does it hurt?

My helix piercing hurt more than getting my earlobes done. It was quite uncomfortable, but not too bad. The needle going through hurts a little, and then wiggling the ring into place was pretty uncomfortable. My ear ached for about half an hour afterwards, but apart from that, it doesn’t hurt unless I touch it. If the pain factor is what’s putting you off getting a helix piercing, I would say don’t worry. It’s definitely bearable. If you’ve had braces then you’ll have experienced more discomfort for sure! Prepare to not be able to sleep on that ear for some time. If you’re planning on getting both ears done, I would recommend getting one at once, for this reason.

Aftercare… 

I’ve read a lot of contradictory advice online about caring for a cartilage piercing. My piercing artist recommended cleaning the area twice a day with saline. I’ve been using a quarter teaspoon of salt dissolved in boiled (and cooled to body temperature) filtered water  in a bowl and soaking my ear in there for 5-10mins twice a day.

Cartilage takes longer to heal than other piercings. It may take up to a year for the wound to be completely healed. So during this time you should have a ring or stud in there pretty much constantly, to avoid the hole closing. Wait 2-3 months before changing the piercing initially.

Aftercare is very important for cartilage piercings! The infection rate is about one in three piercings. Make sure to clean the wound regularly, avoid fiddling with it and only touch the piercing with clean hands.

That being said, I’m a new-be!

This advice has been given to me by my piercing artist. This is my first cartilage piercing, so if you have any tips and tricks for me, that’d be greatly appreciated! It’s only been three days since my procedure. I’d be interested to know how long others have found it takes for the area to not hurt when touched, or if you have any advice for me about avoiding infections and whether I should be moving the ring in the hole or leaving it alone?

FullSizeRender-25.jpg

I really love my helix piercing, and can definitely see myself getting other piercings in the future!

Lots of love,

Hope x

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “Getting my Helix pierced

  1. This is so cuuuute! I want one really bad, my Pinterest is filled w them! But I’m worried about the pain lol braces killed me and getting my lobes done was the worst. I doubt I’d be able to deal with it, but I’ll have to see!💜

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

