Goodbye wisdom teeth

It’s been a week since I had all four of my wisdom teeth extracted. I’d like to share my experience with you guys, to hopefully help some of you who perhaps will need to get them out in the future and are wondering about it.

The Extraction 

If I can give one piece of advice, it would be GET GENERAL ANAESTHETIC! I’m so happy I did. I lay down on the dentist chair, a nurse took my blood pressure and fitted oxygen tubes up my nose. The dentist then fitted an IV and injected the anaesthetic. Next thing I knew, it was all over! I was very happy to be oblivious to the whole ordeal!

Day 1

The first day was pretty painful. I would recommend taking ibuprofen regularly and using ice packs on the area. The wounds bled quite a bit despite the stitches. I was able to drink through a straw and eat some soup with a teaspoon.

Days 2-4

FullSizeRender-22
Day 4: the bruises on each side made me look like I’d been beaten up!!

The swelling was pretty comical. I looked like a chipmunk! The rest of my teeth began to ache as well, as they began to adjust to the increase in space. I can see that my bottom front teeth have begun to straighten up a bit, which I’m very pleased about. Eating was still tough. I was living on juice, porridge, soup and yogurt. I began to crave Chinese food and cheese! My cheeks began to turn a lovely shade of blue too!

 

 

Days 5-7

FullSizeRender-23
Day 7: bruises looking much better 🙂

On the fifth day I was able to eat some solid food again. Oh, I can’t tell you how great bread tastes after not eating it for 5 days!! The swelling began to subside, and by the seventh day was unnoticeable. I was still taking painkillers now and again, but the discomfort was much more manageable. By day 7 I was able to eat pretty much anything, smiling and laughing still made my cheeks ache quite a bit. The bruising looks much better now. Now it just looks like I haven’t washed!

 

All in all, getting my wisdom teeth out has been a rather uncomfortable experience!

The best advice I can give is:

  1. Opt for general anaesthetic if possible
  2. Ibuprofen will be your best friend 😉
  3. Use cold packs
  4. Don’t have a jam-packed schedule for the following week, as you’ll probably be quite tired

The best part about all of this, is that I got to keep my teeth! Haha.

Love,

Hope x

 

 

 

 

 

7 thoughts on “Goodbye wisdom teeth

  1. I’m getting this done next saturday! They haven’t come in yet, but will very soon. I’m so nervous! Never gotten any type of surgery before. Thanks for the tips!! Hoping to share my experience as well

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I hope it goes well for you! ❤ I'd never had any surgery before either, so I was a little nervous. It all went well though, it seemed as if no time had passed at all! I'll enjoy reading about your experiences 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

