DIY String Art Gift

Countdown to Christmas: 24

FullSizeRender-9Hi guys, this was meant to go up yesterday. I wanted to share with you the gift I made for my father this Christmas. Hopefully it will inspire you too!

I began with a piece of wood. Now I know very little about wood, try and make sure that the wood you find isn’t too hard, because I found it quite challenging to hammer some of the nails in. I picked up this piece in my local DIY store. I also bought a pack of nails, which are really cheap.

The next step is to decide what pattern you want to go for. I chose a map of Germany, with a heart in the middle. You can print off your pattern, cut it out and draw around it with pencil onto the wood, like I did, or simply draw it free-hand.

I then hammered the nails into place along the border like so: FullSizeRender-10.jpgUsing embroidery thread or string, thread the nails together. You can do this in a simple rotational pattern like me, or a more random web-like design, which also looks cool. As a final touch I used a gold pen to write “Deutschland” along the top.FullSizeRender-9.jpg

And voila! I gave this to my dad for Christmas today and he really likes it.

I’d love to see your version of this nail and string art. Also, let me know how your Christmas is going! I’ll be doing a haul in the coming days, and I also received a Yoga mat for Christmas, so look out for a Yoga routine!

Love,

Hope x

 

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “DIY String Art Gift

Leave a Reply

