My Workout Routine

Countdown to Christmas: 6

A few months ago I wrote a post about how to motivate yourself to exercise. At the time I was being very lazy, but I have since headed my own advice, and today I’d like to share with you my current workout routine, and hopefully inspire you to get active during these colder months!

I used to run 3-4 times per week, but when my anxiety and depression got pretty bad, I stopped going out. I still go on the occasional run, but I have found other methods of staying active, which to be honest, I never thought I’d do. Looking for alternatives, especially in the winter months, can be a good idea. Try getting creative, doing something new, until you find what works best for you.

Screen Shot 2015-12-06 at 14.51.27
Here I am looking super cool 😛 

So what does my exercise routine look like now? I go to the gym after
school for an hour and a half twice a week. There I do a variety of exercises, including push-ups, weighted squats, sit-ups etc., as well as running on the treadmill or elliptical. I really enjoy this actually, going with a friend makes it much more fun.

I also enjoy practising yoga three to four times a week, either in the morning at the weekend, or before bed. I love doing Youtube yoga videos. I would really recommend Yoga with Adriene if you’re a beginner starting out. She has a great range of videos, I especially like her Power Yoga episode for something slightly higher intensity. If you’ve been doing yoga for a while, and looking for something slightly more challenging, Yoga with Tim is also great.

If you’re looking to become more active, making little steps in your daily life can be very beneficial. Walking the dog, or simply turning on some music and dancing! Exercise should be fun 🙂

Let me know what types of exercise you enjoy most in the comments below! Have an amazing day!

Hope x

2 thoughts on “My Workout Routine

Leave a Reply

