What defines your worth?

Hey guys, I haven’t posted for a really long time. Life has been pretty stressful at the moment. I thought I would just write this little impromptu piece to hopefully inspire you.

What defines your worth?

Think about it. Really, think about it. Do you believe that you will be worth more if you get into that friendship group? Have that boyfriend? Lose those 10 pounds? Get that A* grade?

Well I’m here to tell you that that’s untrue.

I suppose this is topical at the moment with Essena O’Neill quitting social media. She “had it all”, but felt worthless. How can that be? Now, I don’t know what it’s like to be internet famous, but I do know what it’s like to get good school grades. I’m in my last year of the IB, and I’m predicted 45 points. People have always viewed me as “the smart one”. My life must be so easy, I’m likely to get into any university and be successful, my life must be awesome right?

Well I’m depressed. I’m suffering from depression and anxiety, which is largely related to my academic work. Yesterday I went into school to practise my English oral exam with my teacher, it went horribly. I came out and started crying, even though he told me my grade would be 5 out of 7, and he told me that my essay achieved full marks. I hated myself. I felt utterly worthless.

I guess that was a wakeup call for me. I can’t let my worth be defined by the grades I get. Just like being a millionaire won’t make you happy, neither will top grades, I can assure you. So what should define our worth?

Your worth is not defined by someone else’s inability to see your worth

Self esteem comes from within. You need to believe that you are valuable, that you are strong, that you are worthy.

I’m here to tell you today that you are special. You are loved. You are valued and you are worthy. No matter who you are, what you do, or how you feel, you are precious. You are not a mistake. And you are not helpless. You have the power to make a change, in the lives of others, to the world. And don’t forget it, you are worthy of being loved. And no one can take that away from you.

Hope x

Leave a Reply

