If you are going back to school/uni/work read this!

Hi there guys. I am aware that my posts have been irregular recently. I started school last week, my last year of school. I thought I would write this quick casual post for those of you going back to a new year of school/uni/work in order to give you a bit of motivation 🙂

I read this extract a few years ago and I love it so much. I currently have a copy on my bedroom wall to motivate me now and again:

2012-08-14-Screenshot20120814at3.57.53PM

If you’re at the beginning of the academic year thinking “Woah, there is no way I’m going to get through this”, there are some things I want you to know.

Firstly, your track record so far for getting through situations has been 100%. Don’t let fear of the future overwhelm you, that won’t help at all. What will help is staying focused. Concentrate on completing things one day at a time and before you know it, it will all be behind you.

Secondly, remember that this year is a marathon, it’s not a sprint. Pace yourself. If you go flat out on the first stretch you will never finish the race on time. Write yourself a motivational message and stick it on your wall above your desk or on your mirror. My one for this year simply says; 1. Decide where you want to go. 2. Take steps to get there. It’s important to stay dedicated if you want to achieve your best. It’s the same with anything; a diet, fitness goal etc.

Thirdly and perhaps most importantly is balance. Learn how to balance your physical, mental, emotional and spiritual health. I recommend The 7 Habits of Highly Effective Teenagers by Sean Covey. And Make lots of lists! This is the best way to stay organised (plus the satisfaction of ticking items off is great!). Don’t dismiss the importance of taking some time out for yourself, reading a book, going for a walk or having a bubblebath. If you don’t care for all aspects of yourself then you’ll soon run out of steam. Surround yourself with people who support you. Identify toxic aspects of your life and slowly eliminate them, it will do you good I promise.

And lastly, make a longterm goal. Right now, go and fetch a piece of paper. Got one? Good, now draw a picture of yourself in the middle (it doesn’t have to be a piece of art!). Now write down all things you want to achieve in the next five or ten years. It might be; start a family, be happy with my exam results, travel, inspire people, use my skills to help others, to name a few. Refer back to this sheet regularly so that you can have a vision of your future self in mind.

I hope you enjoyed this short post and hopefully feel encouraged and motivated for the year ahead. Let me know what you are most looking forward to about this coming year! I love you all so so much and wish you all the best!

Hope x

Leave a Reply

